Call for Nominations and Awards

Every year SFTE recognizes outstanding individuals and teams in the world of Flight Test. Nominations for these awards are now open, and may be submitted by any member of SFTE. Final announcement of the winners will be made at the International Symposium Awards Banquet in Seattle on October 17th. For more details on the awards, or to submit please see below.

In addition to these awards the SFTE Foundation (a 501(c)(3) organization) awards the Barbara Wood scholarship to students looking to enter a career in flight test. These scholarships are funded by donations from individuals and chapters, and both applications and donations are now being accepted.

The Kelly Johnson Award

The Kelly Johnson award is the longest running award presented by SFTE, and was first presented in 1973. It recognizes and honors outstanding achievement in the field of Flight Test Engineering, and is the highest honor an individual can be awarded by SFTE.

Nominate an Individual for the Kelly Johnson Award

The James S. McDonnell Award

The JS McDonnell Award was first established in 2006, and is awarded annually to a Flight Test team to recognize significant accomplishment by a team in the field of Flight Test Engineering.

Nominate a Team for the JS McDonnell Award

The Barbara Wood Scholarship

The SFTE Foundation provides annual scholarships to a number of students pursuing Science and Technology degrees. In 2023 this scholarship was renamed the Barbara Wood Scholarship in recognition of the lifetime impact Barbara had on the field of Flight Test Engineering, particularly in the European Chapter.

Applicants must have been student members for at least 6 months, and completed at least 1 year of undergraduate studies in a technical field prior to applications. 

The SFTE Foundation relies on donations from individuals and chapters to fund scholarships - donations (tax deductible for US tax payers) can be made directly through the link below, or by contacting to make arrangements.

Donate to the Barbara Wood Schoarship Fund

Apply for the Barbara Wood Scholarship